Hot July is upon us!
During this heat wave, please know the library will have its A/C on full tilt so you always have a cool place to relax and take respite from the sunshine. As BC moves to step 3 of its restart plan, we look forward to returning more seating to the library to welcome more patrons for longer periods. You can read our library restart plan here.

These longer summer days are perfect for relaxing with a great book. Check out our staff picks or new arrivals for your next reading journey. Audiobooks are a great option for listening while doing yard work or on a road trip; if you ever have a long wait time for an e-book or audiobook with Libby or Overdrive, let us know and we can usually buy a copy just for GDPL patrons. If you have children and youth in your life, please know they can still register for our Summer Reading program and take part in all the free events happening.

Thank you to all of you who completed our survey in June regarding library services.Your feedback helps us to improve and grow so please don't hesitate to reach out by phone, email or in person if you have any ideas for improvement, or would like to make a purchase suggestion.

Stay cool and hope to see you at the Library! For more information on this and other events below, visit our website and find us on all the socials.

 

 

Facebook Instagram Twitter

 

Call us! 604-886-2130

Email us! gdplinfo@gibsons.bclibrary.ca

Open Monday - Saturday, 10 - 5

Closed on Canada Day, Thursday, July 1st

 


 

Upcoming Events

 

Japanese Conversation Group

Mondays, 1:00 - 2:00 pm

Zoom Link

Join our Japanese Conversation Group at a new time! Every Monday at 1:00 via Zoom.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tech Help for Seniors

Thursdays 2:00 - 4:00 pm

 

Are you a Sunshine Coast senior looking for help with your smartphone, tablet or laptop? We can help! Sign up for a 45 minute, one-on-one session. Find out more.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Repair Cafe is Back!

Saturday, July 31, 10:00 am - 3:00 pm

 

We're so happy to announce that the Repair Cafe is back on the last Saturday of each month! Bring your small appliances for free repairs from a dedicated group of volunteers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Library News and Views

 

 

The What's NEW List is Up!

 

 

Check out all the hot new titles at the library list month!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Events for Kids, Teens & In-Betweens

 

 

Summer Reading Club

 

The Summer Reading Club is here! This year’s theme is ‘crack the case’ and the library is hosting mysteries, whodunnits, magic, escape rooms, and more all summer. Register online or in-person at the Gibsons & District Public Library.

 

What is Summer Reading Club? Summer Reading club encourages reading and learning throughout the summer months for children and youth. The Gibsons & District Public Library will be hosting new events each week of the summer. Pick up your events booklet at the library or check out the Summer Reading Club page.

 

 

 

Reading Walk

July 3 - July 31

 

Starting July 3 and through the rest of July, enjoy a self-guided reading walk outside on the library grounds. Follow the signs to read Monique Gray Smith’s picture book When We Are Kind.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meet the Illustrator: Zoe Si

Wednesday July 7, 1:00pm

Meet cartoonist, illustrator, and official BC Summer Reading Club artist Zoe Si. Create your own detective character under Zoe’s guidance and learn more about her exciting career. Zoom event, have paper and pencils ready.

Registration required, for youth age 7-14

Join the Summer Reading Club today.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Escape Room Week

July 7 – 10

In this program you need to work together to solve a series of puzzles to break out of a virtual escape room. The clock is ticking! Can you make it out in time?

Registration required, age restrictions listed.

 

Wed., July 7th 11:00 – 11:45 am – A Camping We Will Go (age 9-12)

Thurs., July 8th 1:00 – 1:45 pm - Camping with Bugs (age 7-10)

Sat., July 10th 11:00 – 11:45 am – School Daze (age 9-12)

 

Join the Summer Reading Club today.

 

 

 

Crack the Code

July 12 -17

Book characters are lost in the library! Can you find them and decipher their code? Prizes awarded for the correct answer. Youth event, no registration required.

Join the Summer Reading Club today,

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hot on the Trail

July 19 - 24

Get outside and become a citizen scientist! Pick up your Citizen Scientist booklet, record your findings and enter to win a prize. Youth event, no registration required. Contest deadline Saturday August 7th

Join the Summer Reading Club today.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Secret Missions

July 26 - July 31

Build your own cipher and decode a map of Gibsons. Pick up your secret mission kit at the library and start sleuthing! Submit your decoded map by August 14th to win a prize. Youth event, no registration required.

Join the Summer Reading Club today.

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Summer Author Talks

 

 

Summer Author Talk: Molly Ostertag

Tuesday, July 6, 2:00 – 3:00pm

Molly Knox Ostertag, author of the Witch Boy series, will be reading from her recently released graphic novel, The Girl from the Sea, followed by a discussion about the process and inspiration behind this graphic novel. This event is open to youth age 8+.

 

Got a question for Molly? Submit your question to library staff and we’ll make sure she gets it. Register for this event by phone, email, or in-person. This event will be live streamed via YouTube. Register to get the link.

 

 

 

Summer Author Talk: Michael Hutchinson

Thursday, July 8, 2:00 - 3:00pm

Michael Hutchinson is a member of the Misipawistik Cree Nation, north of Winnipeg. He is the author of the popular Mighty Muskrats Mystery series for young readers published by Second Story Press. He has spent much of his career telling the stories of Indigenous peoples and advocating for First Nation families and communities across Canada. This event is open to youth age 8+.

 

Got a question for Michael? Submit your question to library staff and we’ll make sure he gets it. Register for this event by phone, email, or in-person.This event will be live streamed via YouTube. Register to get the link.

 

 

 

Summer Author Talk: Grace Lin

Tuesday, July 13, 2:00 – 3:00pm

Grace Lin is an award-winning and New York Times bestselling author and illustrator of picture books, early readers and middle grade novels including Mountain Meets the Moon and Mooncake for Little Star. Her work has received both Newberry and Caldecott Honors. She is a champion for diversity and takes her message to her podcasts, TEDx talks, and with her video essay “What to do when you realize classic books from your childhood are racist?.” This event is open to youth age 3-8.

Got a question for Grace? Submit your question to library staff and we’ll make sure she gets it. Register for this event by phone, email, or in-person.This event will be live streamed via YouTube. Register to get the link.

 

 

 

Summer Author Talk: Eric Litwin

Thursday, July 15, 11:00 – 12:00 pm

Eric Litwin is a song singing, guitar strumming, New York Times best-selling, award winning author who brings early literacy and music together. He is the original author of the Pete the Cat series as well as the author of The Nuts, Groovy Joe, and The Poop Song. This event is open to all ages.

 

​Got a question for Eric? Submit your question to library staff and we’ll make sure he gets it. Register for this event by phone, email, or in-person.

This event will be live streamed via YouTube. Register to get the link.

 

 

 

Summer Author Talk: Erin Entrada Kelly

Tuesday, July 20, 2:00 – 3:00pm

New York Times bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly was awarded the Newbery Medal for Hello, Universe and a Newbery Honor for We Dream of Space. In this event she will be talking about her latest illustrated novel for middle graders, Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey – a book about summer, friendship, and overcoming fears! Eight-year-old Marisol Rainey is an irresistible new character who will appeal to fans of Clementine and Ramona the Pest. This event is open to youth age 8+.

 

Got a question for Erin? Submit your question to library staff and we’ll make sure she gets it. Register for this event by phone, email, or in-person.This event will be live streamed via YouTube. Register to get the link.

 

 

 

Summer Author Talk: Tracey Baptiste

Thursday, July 22, 11:00 -12:00pm

New York Times bestselling author Tracey Baptiste will talk about being creative under pressure. She will introduce her body of work, including The Jumbies series, Minecraft: The Crash, as well as her upcoming picture book and nonfiction book for middle-school readers. The presentation will cover her writing process, why she writes both fiction and nonfiction for readers from preschool through high school, and how each book came together. This event is open to youth age 8+.

 

Got a question for Tracey? Submit your question to library staff and we’ll make sure she gets it. Register for this event by phone, email, or in-person.This event will be live streamed via YouTube. Register to get the link.

 

 

 

Summer Author Talk: Saadia Faruqi

Tuesday, July 27, 2:00 – 3:00 pm

Saadia Faruqi, Pakistani American children's author, will talk about her publication journey, give some tips to aspiring writers, and read from her latest book. This event is open to youth age 6+.

 

Got a question for Saadia? Submit your question to library staff and we’ll make sure she gets it. Register for this event by phone, email, or in-person.This event will be live streamed via YouTube. Register to get the link.

 

 

 

Summer Author Talk: Richard Van Camp

Thursday, July 29, 2:00 – 3:00 pm

Richard Van Camp is a proud Tłı̨chǫ Dene from Fort Smith, North West Territories. He is the author of 26 books in 26 years, including the baby book Welcome Song for Baby. He is best known for his 1996 novel The Lesser Blessed, which was adapted into a film by director Anita Doron in 2012.

 

Got a question for Richard? Submit your question to library staff and we’ll make sure he gets it. Register for this event by phone, email, or in-person.This event will be live streamed via YouTube. Register to get the link.

 

 

 

 

View online

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter